Embracing the tiny, Day 10: A thin, brown line

toasted pine nuts

While they taste fine as-is, ten minutes in a warm oven transforms raw pine nuts into something sublime.

Unfortunately, anything more renders them useless. And the line between “fantastic” and “useless” is quite a fine one, easily missed and just as easily cursed.

But when I take care, I’m rewarded with two things:

A reminder that turning one’s full attention to something can be rewarding.

And really delicious salad.

This is Day 10 of a 21-day series. For more scoop on the who/what/why, go here.

8 comments

  1. Oh, yum!
    May I ask what temperature to use?

    These remind me of all the little seeds in the ground whose wait for Spring is over, as their seedlings burst into the light. And all the ones which have an alternate challenge: joining us in taste joy!

  2. Really loving the sparse poetry of these posts, Colleen. From the titles, to the timing, to the tenderness of observation.
    Writing goodness lives….

      1. One of the ‘great values’ of brief writing, I’ve found [although I certainly haven’t applied it lately myself :( ], is that “It gets DONE” ~

        Love ya!

  3. Thanks for this series. I start my day by reading your blogs and it starts my day with a smile and reminds me that the things that are really important in life truly are the small things that touch our soul.

  4. Colleen – I’m loving your short writings as much as I’ve loved the long. Maybe even more… it’s teaching me the value of stating the truth clearly without embellishments born out of worry, guilt, fear of misinterpretation. It’s brave writing that needs no explanation. Pure poetry.

    Thank you.

    1. Thank you, Linda. I hadn’t even thought of that. Mostly, this was born of expediency. But I’ll take it!

Comments are closed.