Frrrrriday Rrrrroundup #69

shadow art

An end-of-weekly roundup collecting fffffive of the fffffoxiest things I fffffind stumbling around the web. More about the genesis here. Every dang Friday Round-Up here, you procrastinating slacker!

While I’m pleased that my friend Lisa is gainfully employed again, my fondest wish is for a full book full of her startlingly clear and beautiful prose pieces—like this one, on divorce.

A trifecta from Seth, as he has been en fuego lately, making it impossible to choose. Learn about the dangerous game of the reciprocal recommender, the hazards of well-meaning lizard-feeding, and/or why you need to get off the page.

How one doctor used diet to help reverse her M.S. symptoms. [TEDx video, 18 minutes]

The controversial Caitlin Flanagan takes a stab at explaining the fanatical worship of (early) Joan Didion among women writers.

Image of shadow art by Fred Eerdekens, via Patti Digh/others on Facebook. (Or, view a full gallery of amazing “shadow” art.)

7 comments

  1. Colleen,

    So wonderful to have you back. You’re the first blog I look for in my inbox every morning. And, methinks you, too, are en fuego! Thanks for taking us to see all these sites/sights.

    1. Aw…thank you, Ellen!

      I’m not exactly “back” back yet; posting will likely be light for the next couple of months. But I’m doing my best to reintegrate the blog into my writing workload.

  2. Good morning, Colleen. It’s refreshing to see something new in art: shadow art! Reminds me of those shadow animals we did as kids on our bedroom walls. But when an artist takes us where we didn’t think shadows can go, that’s true art. (Hopefully he didn’t steal the idea from someone who didn’t know how to put it out to market.) Thanks for sharing that image and it’s encouraging to see you speaking all over the place now. (I’m envious but in a way that raises my vibrations.) Keep on going!

    1. It’s refreshing to see something new in art: shadow art!

      New to me, anyway! I was stunned when I started googling and found all of those other instances of shadow art.

      And I totally hear on the vibration-raising variety of envy. It’s a big motivator!

  3. How Very Kewl is that art!!

    Great reminder to step back and take a look from a ‘different perspective’. What looks like chaos, may not be…
    Love this, c (love you, too!) ~
    Bright Friday Blessings ~ Karen :)

    1. And so simply and elegantly. (Or simply and elegantly and terrifyingly, in the case of Noble & Webster.)

      Thanks, Karen!

  4. Colleen, I am in awe of how civil and how fully present you remain on the blogosphere. Thank you so much for the mention. Thank you even more for reading my stuff. Blogging isn’t easy, over time, and some of my stuff provokes controversy, and finding sufficient emotional bandwidth can be hard. Your support helps.

Comments are closed.