Frrrrriday Rrrrroundup! #02

tiny toy cowboy figure with lasso

An end-of-weekly roundup collecting fffffive of the fffffantabulous things I find stumbling around the web during the week here, but which I post on one of the many other Internet outlets I stop by (or tweet at) during my travels. More about the genesis here.

If you aren’t already madly, head-over-heels in love with Roger Ebert for his brilliant body of work and his spectacular lemons-into-lemonade reinvention as the Busiest Dude on the Internet, you will be once you read this wonderful essay he wrote about his father.  [delicious-ed]

No, I don’t have an iPad (yet). But after seeing this terrrrrific batch of crazy drawings by my friend, Nathan Bowers, when I do get one you can bet that one of the first apps I’m getting is Harmony. [Tweeted]

Engaged as I am in the ongoing throes of my own decluttering, I find much of what my friend Brooks Palmer writes inspiring, illuminating, or both. But I especially liked this piece on clutter-buster meeting clutter-buster, which has all kinds of good stuff in there: learning how to connect with someone, the benefits of being kind to ourselves and others, and as always, understanding our deeper attachments to stuff. Oh, and if you’re L.A.-local, I hear there is still a spot open in Brooks’ upcoming private Santa Monica workshop. [Stumbled]

I have not seen, nor heard, a more spectacular example of full-on-retro, unabashedly individualistic web design since, well, probably that Peter Pan guy. But Yvette’s Bridal, with its links to just about everything, portraiture inclusive, is a whole lot more joyous and a whole lot less creepy. [Facebooked, via @zeldman on twitter]

And finally, because a week ain’t a week in my book without a corny cartoon pun, this excellent, unabashedly corny one. [Tumbled, via The Practical Archivist]

xxx
c

Image by via Flickr, used under a Creative Commons license.

3 comments

  1. Great, great Roger Ebert piece. This should be required reading for fiction writers and journalists.

    Great, great Brooks Palmer post. This neat little set of arrows he draws: anger at his wife –> noise of the tv –> “noise” caused by his own clutter –> anger at himself: that was a real gift he gave his client. This reminded me of a book that’s been on my mind lately: Jennifer Lehr’s Ill-Equipped for a Life of Sex. Her memoir is about how the marriage-destroying problems in her sex life were tied back to issues that had nothing to do with sex, and everything to do with the most mundane issues of everyday life. [Her model of turning a well-written and brutally honest memoir into a career of inspirational writing and speaking (and all, by the way, without a blog) could be a model for you going forward, darling Colleen.]

  2. I love the Cheeses joke!

    Thanks for mentioning my blog post. Clutter busters often don’t want to think of themselves as having clutter. Or they sometimes get frustrated that they have clutter and they think they shouldn’t. As a clutter buster, I sometimes have to trip over clutter to be aware of it.

    Thanks again for Communicatrix and your insights. I like what you do!

Comments are closed.