Poetry Thursday: Why I write

writing_woodleywonderworks

I have written well and wretchedly,
in crayon and ink,
with bombast and aplomb
and fear underneath.

I have written on the tops of toilet seats
from the depths of despair
and in glass-walled buildings
while my soul was asleep.

I have written for praise
and for dolls
and for cash
and for naught.

I have written for the stage
and The Man
and the screen
and the hell of it.

I wrote
because it is what I was taught
and how I was wired
and why I might be here.

But I write
because it is the only way
I know how to sing.

xxx
c

Image by woodleywonderworks via Flickr, used under a Creative Commons license.

20 comments

  1. I agree with everyone before me…This is BEAUTIFUL. Simple, but at the same time deep and with heart and sould into it. Thank you, thank you. What a great way to start my Thursday December 10th.

    LOVE IT!!!!!

  2. If I could only buy my very own copy of ‘The Collected Poems of Colleen Wainwright’, then I wouldn’t have to keep printing them out every Thursday. Plus I’d be helping save a tree or two, wouldn’t I?

  3. I agree with everyone before me. This is BEAUTIFUL. It is simple, but at the same time, deep, and, with heart and soul into it. Thank you, thank you. What a great way to start my Thursday December 10th.

    LOVE IT!!!!

    Juan Carlos

  4. Colleen, Your poems are wonderful. You have an amazing gift. Keep sending them! And your other writing is great too! Keep it going!

  5. You have written your way into the hearts of many,
    including me, sweet C, because you take your “particular”
    into our “universal” …
    In so doing you write “right” and timely in this holiday…..
    Here’s mine in response to that sentiment:

    Remember the many
    compartments of the heart,
    the seed of what is
    possible. So much of who
    we are is defined by
    the places we hold for each
    other. For it is not our ingenuity
    that sets us apart, but our
    capacity for love, the
    possibility our way will
    be lit by grace. Our hearts
    prisms, chiseling out the
    colors of pure light.

  6. I’m noticing a pattern: the ones that seem to resonate the most are the ones that make me cry writing them.

    Thank you, all, for the warm and generous notes. So very much appreciated.

  7. i love your thursday poems. I always skip over them on those weeks that I am behind and trying to plow through my emails – deleting things I might otherwise read and save them for times like now. Sunday afternoon when I am only mildly behind the eight ball and can really enjoy them. Thanks – Cheri

Comments are closed.