One day

unicorn_alana_jonez

One day
you will be gone
which is neither here
nor there
(much like you will be
on that day)
except to say
this:

Every day
would be fuller
and richer
and brighter
and lighter
if you started it
by thinking
of that other day
down the road.

You not here
has a great effect
on you here, now.

And “them” not here
(whoever “them” may be)
ain’t a bad thing
to remember, either
while we’re at it.

Because whether it’s them you love
or them you do not
none of it matters much
when no one is here tomorrow.

On that one day
I wish you peace
and love
and a rainbow-tailed unicorn
to ferry you
to your final destination
wherever that may be.

But for this day
and every day
in between
I wish for you
and for me
and for “them”
to remember
that one day.

xxx
c

Image by alana jonez via Flickr, used under a Creative Commons license.

10 comments

  1. this one has me a little blue; brings up folks past, times I’m coveting. . .

    when I read:
    You not here
    has a great effect
    on you here, now.

    was reminded of a convo I had last week during which a friend/colleague asked me: if you had your “if I could only” today; how close to then would now be? My answer: it already is. Sending good wishes to everyone today.

  2. OMG, another fabulous one. I love, love, love this part:
    “On that one day
    I wish you peace
    and love
    and a rainbow-tailed unicorn
    to ferry you
    to your final destination
    wherever that may be.”

    What beautiful imagery!

  3. In the last month since I’ve been reading, as much as I possibly can, everything you write, here’s what I mull over in the wee hours: How can you be this good a writer every damn day ?

    The unicorn image is astonishingly, hauntingly lovely. Where else might I see the artist’s work?

  4. Oh Colleen, ya got me on this one – I’m a little teary. This is such a powerful perspective that you have shared. As I look for buck-kicking encouragement/motivation/ultimatums, this gem goes a long way.

    You and your wee ‘pen’, inspire us all!

  5. Having lost my Mom nearly a year ago to the day, this poem expresses, for me, the place that the journey of grief ultimately takes us .. by considering the one day we are gone, be tuly live in the day we have at hand.

    Magically and hauntingly crafted Colleen.

  6. Thanks, all. As always, your special support for the poetry stuff is deeply appreciated.

    Michaelyn (and anyone else interested): Most of the time, the artist’s work is searchable via a simple clickthrough of the attribution link I stick at the bottom of every post. In this case, it’s some random graffiti artist, so it’s gonna be harder to trace—maybe impossible. But usually, that’s the way.

    Your other (very sweet, semi-)question I think I’ll address in a future post. Because by golly, it’s a big and important one.

  7. My turn….

    Happy Birthday to you
    Happy Birthday to you

    Your Birthday is Sunday
    Whatcha gonna do?

    May you have fun
    Maybe playin’ in the sun?

    You’re our gal
    Our internet pal
    Our ctrix with flair, style and grace
    Lord knows you can put us in our place

    Take some time for yourself
    Stay happy and wise
    Keep healthy this year
    And as always…..no fear.

    HA! I suck but hey, I tried.

Comments are closed.