Poetry Thursday: Gaping maws

moleskine_samcrockett-1

The attack of the blank page
of time
of the endless rabbit holes of possibility
is merciless
is sneaky
is eternal.

The two thousand contacts
waiting for you to connect
somehow

The two hundred ideas
competing for pole position
in your cranium

The two roads,
this one
or that one,
neither one saying
which one should be
the one not taken.

How do you begin
to address such abundance?

There will never be
enough time
enough energy
enough attention
to satisfy them all
to satisfy you at all

So don’t.

Open your heart
with rest
or sound
or light
or anything handy,
really

And let it guide you
to the perfect spot
for setting down
your blanket
and unpacking your basket
and staying awhile.

There is all the time in the world
for the one thing
that you must do
now.

xxx
c

Image by sam crockett via Flickr, used under a Creative Commons license.

8 comments

  1. my heart opens every time I take a day of silence. thx for the reminder. it’s time to shuuuuuut it so I can unsphincterize my ticker!

  2. Thanks for the inspiring morning poem
    It really is exactly what I needed to hear
    Hmmm
    Maybe I need to start my own blog
    Nahh
    Too much else to do
    But what first?

  3. Beautiful! This morning, I woke up with twenty things running through my mind… leaving on vacation tonight, client needs this and this and this, call client, pack for me, pack for him and him, clean car, pack car, worry about extended family drama…. Even on the eve of a much needed respite to the ocean, my heart didn’t want to settle.

    So I took my chai tea, went to the front porch and drank in a rainy morning, asking God for peace.

    I love it, one blanket, one basket, an open heart… I’m printing this one for my inspiration board….and will tuck it into my journal for a daily reminder. Thanks!

  4. I love your poetry. You have a Charles Bukowski feel without all the wine and prostitutes.

    We forget how important the “now” truly is. I know I do. I’ve been practicing staying in the present moment for over five years and I still struggle mightily.

  5. Thanks! This poem was just what I needed to read today. I’m going to run out of room for your poems on my bulletin board!

Comments are closed.