Poetry Thursday: Elder vision

washingdishes_chispita_666

My eyes
grow worse
as I
grow old

Betraying me at the sink
whose dirty dishes
somehow refuse
to get clean

Playing dangerous games
as I drive the freeway
at night

Stubbornly refusing
to shift between
the book in my hand
and anything beyond it

I can see half as well
as I could
half a lifetime ago

Maybe less

But what I cannot see clearly
is more than made up for
by what I can:
that we are only renting
that love is the answer
that everything can be seen
as a gift
or a lesson
or both
if you look at it
from the right angle

That this has come to others
before me
and will come to others still
when I am gone

These days
I see every moment
as one to be seized
and seizing
as whatever the moment calls for:
a hundred words, yes
and sometimes a thousand

But also
a two-mile walk
a cup of coffee
a nap
a hug
a bath
a pause

Even, sometimes,
a second pass
at the dishes

So lucky
to have dishes to clean

So lucky
to have time left to clean them

xxx
c

Image by chispita_666 via Flickr, used under a Creative Commons license.

5 comments

  1. So when is your Poetry Book coming out? I’ll buy one in a NY Minute!

    Judith
    P.S. and I don’t even like poetry that much (LOL)

  2. When my husband complains that the dishes are not clean, I tell him that I CANNOT SEE THEM!

    I suppose I could wear my glasses all the time, but honestly, who needs vision so sharp that every wrinkle and gray hair is visible? I don’t mind a life that is a little blurry around the edges.

  3. Judith – Watch out…I just may make one to see if you really do buy it! ;-)

    Bert – Oof. Thank you.

    CF – Haha. I hear you. But only just barely. I think that’s going, too…

  4. Go to Lulu.com and make one. No out of pocket expense and I’ll almost bet, everyone who reads your blog will buy one!

    Judith

Comments are closed.